What is the difference between a shortboard and a longboard balance board? – Luna Planche Équilibre - Balance Board Québec

PADDLE BOARD GONFLABLE MAINTENANT DISPONIBLE! À L'ACHAT DE 2 OBTIENT 100$ DE RABAIS

Shortboard vs Longboard?

What is the difference between a shortboard and a longboard balance board?

 

The shortboard and the longboard are mainly different in their shape and length. The shortboard is much shorter than the longboard which has a more elongated shape. Although both types of boards are effective in developing balance, coordination and muscle motor skills, there are a few differences.

What type of board should I choose?

It all depends on what you want to use it for.

 

Shortboard

what-is-shortboard-balance-board

The shortboard develops balance in the hips. You'll notice that the roller is positioned differently under the two types of boards.To prevent the ends of a shortboard from touching the ground, the side-to-side motion balances both sides of the board so that it is kept level.

It is also possible to use a shortboard for arm strength training by performing, for example, push-ups with the hands positioned at the ends of the board (palms completely on the board).

 

 

 

Longboard 

what-is-longboard-balance-board

The longboard is longer and its shape is very similar to a surfboard. Since the roller is the full length of the board, the leverage is felt more at the knee level. The forward and backward movement is reminiscent of standing on a surfboard.

Because it's longer, the longboard type balance board allows for a variety of positions and movements. It's possible to walk on it to work on posture maintenance, an excellent exercise for slackline enthusiasts. In addition, a sitting position allows you to develop your abdominal muscles.

 

EN

Planche d'équilibre : shortboard vs longboard? – Luna Planche Équilibre - Balance Board Québec

PADDLE BOARD GONFLABLE MAINTENANT DISPONIBLE! À L'ACHAT DE 2 OBTIENT 100$ DE RABAIS

Shortboard vs Longboard?

Quelle est la différence entre la planche d'équilibre shortboard et la planche d'équilibre longboard ?

 

Le shortboard et le longboard sont surtout différents de par leur forme et longueur. Le shortboard est beaucoup plus court que le longboard qui a une forme plus allongée. Bien que les deux types de planches soient efficaces pour développer l’équilibre, la coordination et la motricité musculaire, quelques éléments les distinguent.

Quel type de planche choisir ? Tout dépend de l’utilisation que vous souhaitez en faire.

 

Shortboard

what-is-shortboard-balance-board

La planche shortboard développe l’équilibre au niveau des hanches. Vous remarquerez que le rouleau est positionné différemment sous les deux types de planches. Pour éviter que les extrémités d’un shortboard ne touchent au sol, le mouvement latéral vise à bien équilibrer les deux côtés de la planche afin qu’elle soit maintenue à niveau.

 

Il est également possible d’utiliser un shortboard pour l’entraînement musculaire des bras en effectuant, par exemple, des push-ups avec les mains positionnées aux extrémités de la planche.

 

Longboard 

what-is-longboard-balance-board

Le longboard est plus long et son format ressemble beaucoup à celui d’un surf. Le rouleau faisant toute la longueur de la planche, l’effet de levier se ressent plutôt au niveau des genoux. Le mouvement avant-arrière rappelle en effet la sensation d’être debout sur une planche de surf.

 

Comme elle est plus longue, la planche d’équilibre de type longboard permet des positions et des déplacements variés. Il est possible de marcher sur celle-ci afin de travailler le maintien de la posture, un excellent exercice pour les adeptes de la slackline. De plus, une position assise permet de développer les muscles abdominaux.

 

FR